Ok im a complete noob on compressors, heard there good for tightening up sound. Please tell me what they do, tighten up bass, mids, treble? And which is the best one out there
They even out the volume of notes.

This is useful for getting equal volume out of hybrid/finger picking, increasing sustain, etc...
Recognized by the Official EG/GG&A Who To Listen To List 2008
Quote by utsapp89
^I'd let a pro look at it. Once you get into the technicalities of screws...well, it's just a place you don't want to be, friend.
forgive me for my knowledge of tech terms but imagin you rcord some music and on thetrack it looks like this:
/\ /\ /
/ \ / \/
/ \/

compressing it would make it even i dunno if tht helps cant really draw a diagram on this
MIJ Rhoads Pro '90
Epi LP Prophecy GX + LP Custom Maple EMGs
MIJ Soloist XL '93 =]
MIJ Fender Strat Kahler
Squire tele '94?
Warlock platinum '90? old shape

Laney VC15

Jackhammer
TRADES????
compresses the sound :P hence the name im guessing. But would i be better off with an OD?
sorry tht looks really bad
MIJ Rhoads Pro '90
Epi LP Prophecy GX + LP Custom Maple EMGs
MIJ Soloist XL '93 =]
MIJ Fender Strat Kahler
Squire tele '94?
Warlock platinum '90? old shape

Laney VC15

Jackhammer
TRADES????
A compressor reduces the dynamic range, thus creating the illusion of increased sustain, and often reducing bass boominess. If you get the BBE maxcom compressor (which I use) you also get a built in delay between low and high frequencies that prevents your speakers from recreating too many frequencies at once, and thus makes everything sound clearer and more defined.

Think if your playing spanned 6 decibles for example, you could lower that difference to three, or even have every note be the exact same volume. That's what a compressor does.
it just allows the sound to not go below or above a certain point keeping it even and hence the tightening of your sound