I plan to start doing gigs soon, and I'll be up against two guitars with I believe 75- or 100-watt amps and 2x10 (I think) speakers, and another bassist whose gear I'm not sure of. I'm looking for 300+ watt amps, and an 8x10 cab. Overkill on the cab, I know, but if I'm putting money into this, might as well go all the way; I can always turn the volume down. :P

I dunno about amps. Higher-end Fenders still have all-tube amps, right? I'll be playing jazz, jazz rock, fusion, and classic/modern rock on it, so it'll need a degree of versatility...

As for cabs, Musician's Friend has this beast on sale for a lot cheaper than Guitar Center's price, and it looks alright. I'm kinda new to cabs, though. <.<

Ampeg SVT looks nice, but it's pricier.

Also, anyone know the shipping on one of those? MF says shipping is free, but I don't know about other places.

I hope to god this thread is allowed, I didn't see anything against them in the FAQ.

Thanks!
You're against two guitarists and another bassist?! Woah, unless thats pulled off right, it's gonna sound like ****.

I would probably look into the Ashdown ABM range, good tone, good power (575W) and good price. What more could you want?

Gear:
Fender Standard Jazz Bass
Artec Matrix Pedal Tuner
BBE Optostomp
Boss GEB 7
EHX NYC Big Muff
Ashdown MAG C410T-300
Torque T100BX
GAS-ing for:
Boss SYB5
Behringer Intelligate IG9
Rhythm and lead guitar, and the bassist and I will switch out sometimes. They're a really experienced group; I'm... not. :P
Try to find a used ampeg SVT and 810, used stuff is awesome. I'd go for the SVT2 pro. I have the 810 classic aniversary 810 and it's a beast, it should be able to drownd the rest of the group... if needed

and if your switching out with him, maybe ask about going in on a rig together? Then your bass tones wont change from song to song.

Marcus miller and victor wooten had two bassist on their albumns