I love classical music and Marty Friedman's solo works. I'm also an aspiring composer who is frustrated with my school music director's horrid "jazz" arrangements that he does for my school's orchestra. This year I suggested him that I write an arrangement instead to perform.

Here is my orchestral arrangement for Marty Friedman's Thunder March from his first solo album, Dragon's Kiss. It features an all strings symphonic orchestra with guitar and drums added. I wrote a different intro for the song to better display the use of the orchestra.
Links:
UG Profile
Music Myspace

If you're a tl;dr type of guy, ignore these next parts:

More info about the arrangement:
Although the guitar is the main solo instrument in my arrangement, I have a concerto grosso within the orchestra itself by writing distinguishing parts for key players. This isn't meant to be an Yngwie style of setup in which the orchestra is used purely for the sake of providing chordal background for the guitar to solo over. The guitar is intended to be another part (principle melody) to play along with the orchestra, which is why the guitar won't sound very loud for most of the song. The only real guitar solo is at the end.

I am applying for Berklee School of Music as a composition major with guitar as my principle instrument. I will be using this song as my main prepared piece for the audition (coming up this week).

Technical info:
All violin parts and guitar parts are played and recorded by me. All other instruments are synthetics exported from Kontakt Player and/or produced using Fruity Loops. I used Sibelius 4 to compose, and Fruity Loops and Cakewalk Sonar for production and recording. I used a Jackson Dinky guitar (Dimarzio Evo bridge, Duncan Hot Rail neck) that runs directly in a Roland Cube 60. My audio interface is an E-MU 0404 USB 2.0 with Yamaha MIDI keyboard and Shure SM57 instrument mic.

...modes and scales are still useless.

Quote by PhoenixGRM