I want to fit a new neck to a strat body. I need to drill holes in the neck as it is a new neck and is undrilled. My question is do I need to just drill the holes and screw in the screws? Or do I also have to tap the holes first? The screws look like they are self tapping but I am a noob when it comes to woodwork.
I'd put the neck into the neck pocket, then use a pencil to mark through the existing neck holes in the body where they should be. Find a drill that's smaller than the neck bolts, then drill a small way into the neck - use tape wrapped around your drill as a depth guide.
"Everybody, one day will die and be forgotten. Act and behave in a way that will make life interesting and fun. Find a passion, form relationships, don't be afraid to get out there and fuck what everyone else thinks."
if youre a noob when it comes to woodwork,then dont do it yourself,find someone knowledgeable or you might screw up the neck!
Quote by Alijonroth
if youre a noob when it comes to woodwork,then dont do it yourself,find someone knowledgeable or you might screw up the neck!

Yeah you are right. But I think I can do it. I'm more worried that someone else will muck it up. I'm not a clutz so should be ok

Does anyone know what size drill bit to use? What is the standard size for Fender neck bolts?
You dont have to tap the hole, because they are technically screws not bolts.

Use a drill bit that is the same size and the shaft of the screw, so the holes will be smaller than the actual screw thread that will hold it in place when assembled.

Quote by dogismycopilot
Absent Mind, words cant express how much i love you. Id bone you, oh yea.

Quote by lumberjack
Absent Mind is, as usual, completely correct.

Quote by littlemurph7976
Id like to make my love for Neil public knowledge as he is a beautiful man
ok I think i know what i'm doing. Except i'm not sure where to mark the holes for drilling...