im 13 and i started taking lessons again after i stopped for avout 3 years. ive been playing guitar for 8 years. so while im playing some stuff, my guitar teacher says i am playing too much with my thumb or something like that, and in about 10 years if i keep playing like this my life will be over as a guitarist ill get tendenitus and wont be able to play as fast as i am now. i play fast metal and picking stuff, so i was wondering how i can stop playing like my teacher says i am playing too much with my thumb. i still want to play fast metal when i grow up. so can some1 tell me if they kno whaats going on with my picking, and how i shoudl correctly do it. lol sounds tupid but very serious to me.
and also when i play after a while my forearm aches is that normal or should it feel sore somewhere else?

help
OMG!! YOU'RE GOING TO DIE!!!!!!!!!!!!!! i think you'll be fine. just try playing with your thumb on the back of the neck for a while and see hoe you like it
Epiphone G-400
Yamaha Pacifica (Mod on hold due to procrastination)
Rocktron Banshee
Marshall 10CD

Quote by geetarguy13

I've never smoked before but it looks like fun.
What do you mean exactly by playing with your thumb? Are you fretting with it? IMO there's nothing wrong with that. If you're just hanging it over the fretboard I also don't think there's anything wrong with that but some people consider it poor technique. The "proper" way is to have your thumb on the back of the neck. I frequently fret with my thumb and usually have it hanging over the neck, but I probably put it on the back of the neck almost just as much. All depends on what I'm playing.
Survivor of the St. John's Lockdown
Quote by SG thrasher

The thread-starter is a legend.
Seriously, who thinks "Shit, i'm gonna die, BRB, Ima' tell UG."?

Quote by The_Paranoia

Congratz man, you are a true, American Hero.
Go Schneiderman!

Gun Facts: Educate Yourself