Hey all. this is basically my first post here asking for help, so i'll try and make it as clear as possible.

I'm writing a guitar\piano duet for me and my friend to learn and play together. So far I have a blend where it switches between me playing the chords and him playing the melody, and vice versa.

I wanted to add some harmony parts for some of the melody passages, to add drama.

But I'm having trouble figuring out how to harmonize it.

I have some basic theory knowledge. for example, the song is in the key of E minor, and the chord progression (right now) is Em, G, D, C.

where my theory comes to a dead end is how to harmonize.

See I understand that harmonizing is just dividing a melody into playing something higher and something lower to create the effect in between that you want (in layman's terms I guess) But I'm not sure the rules.

Do all of the notes have to be in the same scale?

For example.. the melody goes like this on guitar

g------------------2-5~-
d----------2-4-5--------
a--2-3-5---------------
e------------------------

Which is in the e minor scale.. and I want the harmony to be minor thirds (I Think, that would sound good, right?
So what exactly do I do. just play the same thing on the piano but 2 frets up? (which would create a lot of out of key notes) --- edit. tried that, sounds AWFUL. what the heck..

Thanks in advance
Last edited by trashbeast at Feb 27, 2008,
take the third of whatever note you are playing.

edit:

b------------------1-5~-
g----------0-2-4--------
d--0-2-3---------------
a------------------------

thats the harmony of what you've wirtten there.
Last edited by Devil In Jersey at Feb 27, 2008,
Quote by Devil In Jersey
take the third of whatever note you are playing.

I just tried that and it sounds absolutely horrid. any idea why? maybe i'm just playing the wrong interval.
Last edited by trashbeast at Feb 27, 2008,
Quote by trashbeast