Hi everyone,

Just thought I'd ask, seing as I'm not sure myself. I'm a slow learner, that much I admit, but even I think I'm far behind when after a year and month of being a guitarist, I still can't play Sweet Child o' Mine even convincingly (i.e. still miss notes). Not only this, I can't do open chords (I mean, change from one to the other) and I regularly miss notes on scales when picking up them. I can tremolo pick pretty fast, but my alternate picking is a mess. After a year of playing, a mate of mine was writing songs. I still don't get theory.
I seem to have really bad co-ordination between my left and right hands in that I usually pick before my hand's even fretted the note. Some people have suggested exercises to up my speed, but I think my technique is really bad. I usually brace my fretting hand against the neck with my thumb and fret with my fingertips. I've tried wrapping my hand around the neck but I can't reach anything. Could this be what's holding me back?

Thanks,
Rob

Ibanez S470
Laney HCM30R
Digitech GNX3000
Quote by quantum leap
Hi everyone,

Just thought I'd ask, seing as I'm not sure myself. I'm a slow learner, that much I admit, but even I think I'm far behind when after a year and month of being a guitarist, I still can't play Sweet Child o' Mine even convincingly (i.e. still miss notes). Not only this, I can't do open chords (I mean, change from one to the other) and I regularly miss notes on scales when picking up them. I can tremolo pick pretty fast, but my alternate picking is a mess. After a year of playing, a mate of mine was writing songs. I still don't get theory.