Hello, sorry if this has already been covered or if it is in the wrong section, i only signed up today and im not sure what im doing yet

I have been playing for two years (so not long really). I am fluent with the pentatonic and minor scales, I improvise with them and i can see how licks are built from these scales.

what i dont get is why do some chord progressions allow use of the minor or pentatonic scale (e.g. smooth by santana), but others only allow use of the pentatonic scale??

i dont have a tutor to ask these things to as having a baby in the house limits my free time (and money ), so any help would be greatly appreciated. thanks.
well, I can't think of an instance when a chord that sounds good with Am pantatonic doesn't sound good with A Natural Minor.

Some notes in the Minor scale just naturally sound iffy over a certain chord, (eg C over Bdim).
My sig used to be so awesome it got me banned
Nothing is going to limit you to the pentatonic scale. However, depending on the scale from which the progression is derived, A natural minor may not work. For instance, Am Bb C uses the A PHRYGIAN scale, A Bb C D E F G, not minor natural minor, A B C D E F G. However, the A minor pentatonic, A C D E G, is contained in the A Phrygian scale, so it will work.
The above sounds like a lesson in modes. Dave Weiner, the guitarist of the Steve Vai band does a great weekly segment on YouTube. Just this week he started to explain modes, how to use them, and how they are constructed. Have a look...

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=AQpOfW6TEBI

Hope this helps

Chris
brilliant. thanks very much -ill check that video lesson out.

Am i right in thinking then, in complete laymans terms, that if there are sharpes or flats the natural minor scale is not the best choice??
Yes that's correct in terms of Am

Since you mentioned Santana I'll give an example from oye como va..