I'm an oldschool metalhead. I like Death, Morbid Angel, Slayer, Testament, Metallica, Megadeth, Sepultura, Celtic Frost, etc. I've been playing for about two years now and I can do the traditional classic rock sounding minor pentatonic scale solos. I also use the minor scale and phrygian mode a lot. So for slow mellow songs, blues, classic rock, and that type stuff I can solo fine. But unfortunately, I can't shred yet so I'm not sure how to go about improvising over metal. I don't know which scales will sound good, how to make up for my slowness, etc. Any tips?
harmonic minor
phrygian dominant
spanish scales
use chromatics
Quote by Jack Off Jill
Better than hooked on crack, I suppose. I'd rather know my kids are safe at home beating their meat than out in the world robbing old women for their crack fix.

Quote by *sigh*
What a huge coincidence. I have a butthole also.
Come up with a melody that fits the riff. Might be hard considering that some of that **** is heavy as fux. But if you come up with a melody or a pattern that fits that riff or chord progression it, then you can work around that pattern or melody.
flat 2nd generally works great with the grindier death metal bands. pentatonics seem fine for stuff like entombed, carcass, or metallica.

if you want to play slayer just play really fast, hit random notes, and wank your whammy.
Quote by rky
flat 2nd generally works great with the grindier death metal bands. pentatonics seem fine for stuff like entombed, carcass, or metallica.

if you want to play slayer just play really fast, hit random notes, and wank your whammy.

its so true
Quote by Jack Off Jill
Better than hooked on crack, I suppose. I'd rather know my kids are safe at home beating their meat than out in the world robbing old women for their crack fix.

Quote by *sigh*
Quote by bi-ah!
harmonic minor
phrygian dominant
spanish scales
use chromatics

Thats like Dimebags playbook right there XD
Epiphone G-400
GFS Crunchy PAF - Bridge

DigiTech Bad Monkey