I'm not sure if this is the right forum for this, but I'll ask anyway.

When I first went to college 2 years ago, I thought I knew what I wanted to do. It seemed an easy choice to get into the computer networking field, as that's what I saw myself doing back then. Fast forward more than 2 years. I'm almost 21 now and my mind is completely changed. I graduated last May with an associate degree in networking, and many opportunities ahead of me. However, I haven't gotten a job yet since I decided to dedicate my life to playing the bass and studying music after the Rush concert I saw last year changed my view on things (yeah, pretty corny, I know...).

However, I started to realize lately that I need a decent job soon. I started writing up my resume today, and I found that it was almost torture. I really don't want to be doing this. I know, I could be making some good money in the networking field. But I don't want to go through life thinking to myself "what if?" This type of job just doesn't feel like me anymore.

I want a career in music now, but it doesn't feel like one of those phases where I'll just get over it and move on in a year. I really want to do this. There are several problems, though. First off, if I do end up going back to college for music, my first 2 years will have been a complete waste. Also, a slightly bigger problem is that I have no clue what type of jobs I could be getting (I'm not cut out to be a teacher, which is the first job that came to mind). Could I make a living/support a family out of a job that requires a music degree? I don't want to struggle through life... making less money than I would in networking is perfectly fine with me, but I want to be somewhat comfortable. One last thing.... like I mentioned, I just started studying music last summer. Are my chances of getting into college (not necessarily a music college) pretty much shot if I don't know a whole lot yet?