Tomorrow night I'm playing bass at a large college gig. I'm mainly a guitarist who took up bass a year ago. At the last gig I screwed up a little because I couldn't see my bass in the dark and I was remembering the fret positions of a guitar neck out of instinct.

Obviously I want tomorrow night to be flawless, so to help my coordination if it's dark I put some sticky tape at three points behind the neck: 3rd fret, 5th fret, and 12th fret. I tested it out just now and I can play very confidently in the dark. Eventually I'll get used to the longer bass neck.

You can start laughing at my n00b solutions now.
If it makes you more confident...then do it

I knew a guy who out the tabs for all the songs (including originals) on the back of his bass

needless to say, he screwed up,and isnt a very good bassist

but theres a BIG difference between that and what ur doing, ur just out of ur comfort zone atm, and need a quick soloution

good luck at the gig btw
Quote by the humanity
I'm just joking Moog. you know nothing can tear our friendship apart, not even the fact we are miles apart, I am right there beside you, yelling, "Chug it, ya little wimp!"
If it's a trick that's going to work in a pinch, use it. Just remember, it's a crutch. Here, run with this crutch and I'll be running regularly let's see who can do 100 metres faster. Eventually you're going to want to ditch the crutch, but for now it doesn't seem all that bad.
Hey, if it works, go for it. I played a gig on bass (I've been playing for like 4 years though) and I wore non-prescription sunglasses in a dark pub. I couldn't see a damn thing, but managed to pull through. If you ever get lost, run your finger down the edge and count the frets it bumps into.
Telecaster - SG - Jaguar
Princeton Reverb, Extra Reverb
P-Bass - Mustang Bass
Apogee Duet 2 - Ableton Suite
Do it, but try playing without looking at first, and if you start messing up, then it'll be there as backup.
ESP Custom Shop 40th Anniversary Eclipse