I've been playing guitar for about 3 years now, and I'm not really happy with my progress. To summarize my abilities, I play mostly rhythm and a tad bit of lead. When playing scales, the fastest I can "shred" is about 210 bpm playing quarter notes (yes, I know that's not fast).

Probably the "hardest" song I can play is "Are You Dead Yet" by Children of Bodom (only rhythm). I can play most mainstream songs pretty easily, you know, bust out a Rage Against the Machine tune or a Three Days Grace song I hear off the radio. But the kind of music I really want to play is metalcore and metal. I love the classical/technical influence and I strive to play that style of music. However, whenever I try to learn a really hard In Flames song or a really fast Megadeth riff (think "Rust in Peace") I get discouraged.

I think I'm just being a lazy pansy but I can't find the motivation to get better. Plus, I have plenty of distractions because I'm really into computers, software, hardware, and networking, so sometimes practicing guitar gets pushed down the list of priorities when I want to mess around with a new Linux distro, if you get what I'm saying.

Give me some tips, Ultimate Guitar.
well, how much do you play? like each day.
and also just keep at the scales, they will help your lead lots and rythm too,
Don't know what to say other than the only way you're going to get better is practicing. I know what you mean by loosing motivation I get that sometimes but helps me is playing something new that I have never played before. For example I play a lot of Tool, Metallica(have all the tab books) and one day I got some Black Sabbath tabs and the Stairway to Heaven tab. I sucked at playing these kind of styles but thats how I get motivated and kept playing them, slowly I got better and learned something new.
Ibanez RG120 (EMG 81s)
Epiphone Les Paul Custom Silverburst
Epiphone Tony Iommi Signature G-400
Diezel Herbert w/ Mesa Boogie 4x12 Cab
Boss ME-50
DOD FX40B Equalizer
Boss MT-2