so im just starting to get a hang of theory and my teacher told me to find out the scales in songs. i just want to know if im right or not. in the opening solo of fade to black i think it starts with i think a A mixalydian then later it goes into a aoelien i think or maybe Lydian. but tell me if im on the right track
My Gear

Epiphone Les Paul Standard
Epiphone Elitist Paul Mccartney Texan
Orange Tiny Terror
Vox Valvetronix AD 30
Vox V847 Wah
Metal Muff EQ (broken )
Boss RC-2 Loop pedal

Me playing
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=l0unpDZFIWA
Yeah, i think you're right about the A mixolydian, or it could be b melodic minor. I'm just learning this stuff as well, so...
Originally posted by Capua47:

Oh well if your from austrailia then grades shudn't matter considering your just gonna grow up to be ol' stevie erwin eh?!

Gear:
Schecter Omen-6
Peavey Valveking 212
Metal Muff
Metal Zone
Jimi Hendrix Wah
Last edited by listless at Feb 29, 2008,
Quote by listless
Yeah, i think you're right about the A mixolydian, or it could be b melodic minor. I'm just learning this stuff as well, so...
He's not. At no point does the song go into any kind of major tonality.

B Melodic Minor might be used, but I doubt it. The song sounds like it uses the A, B, and E Aeolian scales and nothing more, except for maybe a bit of harmonic minor.
with the acoustic chord progression I thought it went Am, Cmaj, Gmaj and Em. So if the key was Aminor, surely the E would be a major chord. is the key not Eminor, just starting on an A minor (and written in A dorian). I may be well off but thats the way i figured it.
Eminor Bminor and their modes
ಠ_ಠ
<|>
/ω\

Tell me what nation on this earth, was not born of tragedy-Primordial
The beginning is in Bm, and it switches to Am for the ending lick of the intro solo. I know that much.
Quote by dudetheman
So what? I wasted like 5 minutes watching DaddyTwoFoot's avatar.

Metalheads are the worst thing that ever happened to metal.