Hi there. I've recently built myself a relatively high spec pc, with the intention of using it to start recording some stuff. However, being a student i've had to wait for my next loan installment to be able to afford an interface and stuff. I know next to nothing about this at the moment - i know how a computer works fairly well, and i know how all my gear works, but bridging the gap to start recording is the difficulty.

So, i was wondering if you guys would be kind enough to point me in the direction of some good hardware and software. I need an interface, preferably PCI (or PCI-E) without breaking the bank - i'm looking for something less than £200. Most of my recording will be coming out of a POD 2.0 or an amp, with a few direct signals. Guitar, bass and vocals. Midi would be nice, tho not essential, as i can get a USB keyboard if i need to.

Also, i don't know if audacity can run VST plugins, but if it can, could someone please point me in the direction of some good but easy to use synths and drum machines, and if not, some programmes that will handle this for me.
Well, for starters, are you wanting to buy the synths, or find some decent quality free ones?

In terms of a PCI card, I hear good things about a lot of the M-Audio stuff. The Delta 44 is only £85 here, and comes with a breakout box so there's no need to fiddle around behind the PC every time you need to plug something in. If you want integrated preamps, you could go with something like the Delta 1010LT.

However, I'm probably not the best equipped to answer this, as I have limited experience with PCI interfaces, but this should give you a basic idea. Both cards I mentioned are quite a bit less than your budget, but when you get more expensive, you get more inputs, which you probably won't need.
There is poetry in despair.
Well, if the free ones are of similar quality to cheaper pay for synths, i'd rather go for one of the free ones.