Hey all
Is there a way to hasten building up calluses? I've been slowly picking my way through this theory book, and I'm actually getting more and more of an urge to play because I'm actually starting to get a little bit clearer sounding when i play (I'm still a complete beginner, but its something). The problem is, after like an hour or so of practicing I have to stop because my fingertips are raw

I'd keep going, but I just can't put enough pressure on the fretboard to produce a clear note at that point... so it basically means I have to stop playing til my fingers stop hurting.
i dont know that it helped, but when i was starting out i used to bite my fingertips a bit (with my side teeth, not the sharp front ones), and when id watch tv id like lay down on the couch and just scrape my fingertips against the carpet till i smelled burning :P
it took me about a month, keep practicing, just ignore the pain, i did and my fingers are strong as a rock
Rock on or die

Guitarist 5 years, Had purpose in life 5 years

Quote by angusfan16
My name is NOT Anus Fan!
If your fingers hurt that much from an hour of play, you might be pressing too hard on the strings. I used to do that, and when I started attempting solos and such, I got nowhere because I pressed too hard and it slowed down my finger speed.
...shun the nonbeliever...
It seems like if I don't press hard enough I just get a ton of buzzing, so I'm pressing just hard enough to get clarity, but trying not to press much harder. I've only been playing for about 3-4 days now so I'm still really new. I think its more that I have to press with the spot on my fingertip where the rest of my finger doesn't touch any other strings (basically just below where my fingernail sticks out.. not under the nail, but just beneath. I have really fat fingers so its pretty much the only place I can press without getting a ton of buzzing). Downside is, its a pretty sensitive area, so I think its just getting sore really fast.