Hi ive only just registered but i have been browsing for a couple of years. but i am not aware if anyone has posted a thread, about what string gauges are the best for the various tunings you can use.

sure, you may think a well established bass player should know this already. but i was interested as i cant find any recommendations on the internet or anything. id find it pretty handy myself and im sure beginners would be interested.

please correct me or evern better, direct me to the thread if this has already been made.

Cheers.
Basses
Ibanez srx300
Ibanez srx595
Amp
Trace Elliot GP12SMX Head
Trace Elliot 1048H 4x10
Trace Elliot 1518 1x15
Hartke VX210 2x10
Ill reply as a guitarist, but the same apllies to basses
you should think about the neck of the guitar in the first place
some guitars are made for 9's (like mine) and some are for 12's (like m friend's)
both standard... it doesn't really matter imho, it's just a matter of personal taste and the instrument itself
yeah some necks have been constructed to suit lower tunings etc. baritones and what not.

i dont think that necessarily for basses though, i guess most necks are constructed in similar ways, and depending on the tuning you use and the gauge of string, theres a chance the neck can be effected. for example, if you play in a lower tunning like b and only use 9's on a guitar the neck could warp. The lower the tuning the higher the string gauge. i was going to ask people what are the best guages for tunings as low as A up to standard.
Basses
Ibanez srx300
Ibanez srx595
Amp
Trace Elliot 1048H 4x10
Trace Elliot 1518 1x15
Hartke VX210 2x10
Neck construction has nothing to do with it. They have massive rods running through them, they're not going to warp. However, the lower the tuning the higher you want the gauge to retain tension, and the higher the tuning, the lower you want the gauge so as to not break the string from added tension.