So basically, I've been playing guitar for about 3 years, and although I'd like to be good by now, I'm not. When I first got a guitar I didn't really play it much, it wasn't until I'd had it for 18 months that I actually started trying to put the effort in.

In the first few months I got way better- that is, not good, but way better than I was before. After that though, I didn't really improve much at all. I think since I got my metronome a year ago I have improved about 15 bpm, up to 144.

It seems the problem is, no matter how often I practice something, whether it be a lick, exercise or whatever, I'll get to a point far below where I want to be, then get no further.

Also, lately my playing has been wildly inconsistent, and I often try playing for 30 minutes or so, then just put the guitar down because I can't play anything. It almost seems like I'm getting worse, with many things I used to be able to play now feeling awkward.

I know this happens to everyone, but I just can't seem to break out of this rut, and I'm getting pretty annoyed seeing as guitar is the main thing I enjoy. Would perhaps getting a new teacher help? currently mine is more into classical type stuff and knows heaps of useful theory, but can't help me technique-wise.

Any help would be appreciated, although "Just keep working" isn't really going to help much.
I've found the best way to get better is to play a whole range of styles. Because every sty;e requires a slightly different approach technique-wise, you pick up handy little tricks that can help you in your main style of playing.