So I've been playing guitar for about ten months, and throughly enjoy the instrument. I've found that I've improved quiet a bit over time, but one thing that I think might be holding me back(or frustrating my progress) is my gear.

Right now I am playing an Epiphone Les Paul Special 2 through a Line 6 Spider II amplifier. I bought these when I started playing because they were cheap and it seemed like a better deal then purchasing a starter pack. Over time I have come to hate the artificial sound of my amplifier, the quality of the distortion, and the lack of a real "metal" sound(especially when playing at the higher frets).

So i'm here, wondering where I should go next with some new gear. I live in an apartment and have no plans to gig anytime soon, so I don't need a lot of volume out of an amp, just good sound quality. Since i'm on a budget(college student) i'm wondering if I should upgrade my Amp first or my guitar(i'll probably have $400 to spend on each, but I'll only have the cash to upgrade one at a time)?

I really enjoy playing, but I want better quality to go with my improved skill, I hope you guys might be able to suggest something to help me out.
amp. look for an epi VJ, it's 5w all tube. Guitar: I'd say an LTD or an X-series jackson (upgrade the pups and the trem on both brands).
Current Gear:
LTD MH-400 with Gotoh GE1996T (EMG 85/60)
PRS SE Custom 24 (Suhr SSH+/SSV)
Ibanez RG3120 Prestige (Dimarzio Titans)
Squier Vintage Modified 70s Jazz V
Audient iD22 interface
Peavey Revalver 4, UAD Friedman BE100/DS40
Adam S3A monitors
Quote by Anonden
You CAN play anything with anything....but some guitars sound right for some things, and not for others. Single coils sound retarded for metal, though those who are apeshit about harpsichord probably beg to differ.