I've been playing guitar for about 7 months, I have an epiphone les paul with a 10w peavy amp and play rock/alternative songs. Had a couple questions for other people:

1. Does learning songs on guitar pretty much require that you sing along?

At first I just worked on chords and chord changes, but now I'm seeing more and more songs are just 3-4 chords over and over again, and unless I at least try to sing along it's hard to know when the changes are supposed to happen. The song also gets really boring without lyrics if its just chords.

My throat actually hurts because I practice playing a lot, and at this point almost everything I practice requires singing along, and until starting guitar last year I never sang anything ever!

2. How do you go from just open strumming of chords to doing more intricate picking?

I usually look for the chords when looking for tabs, and can play something that sounds like the song - but the real versions always sound quite a bit different as the guitarist is picking rather than just strumming the whole chord every time. For example on karma police I play all the chords and it sounds correct, but I know that the actual song has a lot more little picking and embellishments in it. How do you learn to do the picking stuff?

3. Do you ever (or often) play open chords with distortion on?

It usually sounds like trash to me so I'm guessing w distort. I just want to stick to power chords?

4. At what point should I start worrying about music theory? So far I've just wanted to learn the instrument and be able to make it sound alright, and learn some songs. I'm assuming at some point you really need to know the theory to be a guitar player and guessing I might be approaching that point.
1: You could always sing along in your head. Stops you actually using your vocal chords. Or hum the tune.

2: Practise. Try playing a chord and then using a free finger to add in another note (like a 7th or a 9th or something)