i bought da epiphone les paul starter pack n it came wit a pretty dumb amp (which i expected) .. im just starting out .. but would like to mess around wit some differnt sounds .. im not concerned about volume level much cause i just mess around at home and i was wondering if i should buy a new amp wit built in sounds or just get a effects thing for my current amp .. any input would be appreciated
Go for an amp, without built in effects.
Unless your going for a roland cube, the built in effects are horrible.
So your best bet may be a roland cube.
If he's just starting out, wouldn't he want an amp with built-in effects? Let him toy with a Cube or dare I say a Spider. Don't invest too much into those. Find "your sound" then invest with care.
If you're not gigging at all and just want to mess around, get yourself a Multi Effects Processor to kind of decide what tone you're looking for and discovering sounds that you like. If you plan on gigging I'd recommend going with a nice tube combo amp then get pedals as you go.
Washburn WI-64
Jackson DK2
Randall RM100C
Digitech RP200A
Digitech DF-7
Digitech Phase Shifter
Boss OS-2
Boss Bf-2
Quote by Travis^Co
If you're not gigging at all and just want to mess around, get yourself a Multi Effects Processor to kind of decide what tone you're looking for and discovering sounds that you like. If you plan on gigging I'd recommend going with a nice tube combo amp then get pedals as you go.

+1
Quote by Travis^Co

Multi effects pedals usually cost more than a roland cube amp, which has built in effects.
Depending on the pedal quality obviously.
So would it really be worth going for a multi effects processor/amp, when he could get a better amp and effects?