Hi guys, I want to get other guitarists' opinions on this issue.

Ever since i started playing I have had the notion that there is a right way to play guitar and a wrong way - especially when talking about your left hand (or right hand if you are left handed).

For an easy example let's look at Paranoid by Black Sabbath - in the opening riff you can play it by keeping your index finger barred across the 12th fret of the 4th, 5th and 6th strings and just using your ring finger to play the other notes.

Although I know this is supposed to be the most effortless and therefore best way to play the song, I have always found it more comfortable to take my fingers off the fretboard and play each note individually (i.e. not barring).

The same goes for situations where you are playing across 4 frets - i.e. I should be using my pinky but it feels a lot more comfortable using my ring finger and I can play faster that way as well.

So what do you guys think about this? Do you usually play how you feel is 'right' or how you feel is natural to you?
ESP EC-1000
Schecter Demon
Ibanez RG350DX
Ibanez SZ720FM
Fender Standard Strat
BC Rich MM Warlock
Jay Turser JTB-445
Takamine Jasmine C33
Crate Blackheart 5W
Traynor T10/B
Metal Muff
feel > everything else, would u buy a great sounding guitar that was shaped like a flail, stabbing you constantly and the neck was a uncut plank? feel wins

"The mind is its own place, and in itself

Can make a Heav'n of Hell, a Hell of Heav'n"

- John Milton, Paradise Lost
Don't the notes ring out too much if you bar the strings in the paranoid riff? I think you should start using your pinky in your playing, it makes you seem like a noob if you dont. What would you say if Paul Gilbert never used his pinky?
feel feel feel feel feel feel if it doesnt feel right you wont ever be as effective as you could be