Hi everyone,

I have an ESP Eclipse with an EMG 81/81 set and a Vox Valvetronix AD100VT-XL and I'm really having trouble getting a decent tone. I'm somewhat new to the guitar and gear in general so I don't quite know what I'm doing but I've spent a lot of time tweaking the amp without much success. I understand it's hard for you guys to help me out without any physical tweaking. I'm wondering what I can do to improve my tone without stealing John Petrucci's rig.

My friend thinks the pickups might be responsible. It'd cost me money to swap out the actives for passives and I want to be somewhat sure whether I'll hear a big enough difference on a relatively mid-level rig. What do you guys think?

Thanks in advance.
It is a known fact that active pickups mostly sound like sheit through a Solid State amp. I would either get a tube amp, or new pickups. Sorry mate.
Quote by thrilla13w
The hotbar should be floating parallel to the principle axis at this point. Next, take a hammer, and beat yourself in the face while crying JIHAD. problem fixed.

Quote by Slaytanic1993
cowdude speaks words of infinite wisdomery.
Before you switch anything out, borrow a friend's guitar with passive pickups and make sure it's the EMGs.
It probably is, but measure twice, cut once.
Thanks guys. The problem is none of my friends play guitar and the friend who thinks it's the pickups plays bass. It'd be hard for me to wheel my amp into a guitar store to test it out though I suppose that's an option. I guess this is the sort of thing where you have to spend money to get results which isn't something I mind. What I do mind is spending money and ending up right back where I started.
can't you just go into a GC and find a valvetronix 100t xl and plug in a passive guitar into it?
Is there a Guitar Center near by?
I'm sure they'll have a Valvetronix amp on display you could check with a passive guitar?
None of the local ones have the specific one I have last time I checked. I'll give it another whirl.