Hi. I've been reading and enjoying the threads for a little while now, but this is my first post. I'm a beginning guitarist and am looking for the best guitar and amp setup I can get for around $500. Based on some things I've read and people I've talked to, I was looking at the Ibanez RG321 or RG2EX1 and a Roland Cube 30X. Is that a good setup for someone starting out, but something I can grow into? Any advice would be greatly appreciated.

Casey
Quote by ch0
RG321 and a Cube30X would be a great setup.

Can't get much better for starting out!
Quote by killbox2490
HOLY S**T! There is a switch hahahahahha. Thanks Red Wing. Now you're probably going to quote me for being so retarded

CLAPTON IS GOD
^^ If you play hard rock/metal.

If you play more blues and rock, maybe a Vox Valvetronix AD30VT and a (used) Fender Strat/Tele?
Quote by Iceman 420
^^ If you play hard rock/metal.

If you play more blues and rock, maybe a Vox Valvetronix AD30VT and a (used) Fender Strat/Tele?

I've been playing alot of blues rock on my Ibanez. I wouldn't disagree with the Fender `but since your starting out I would suggest getting a humbucker in the bridge so you can get a greater variety of tones. The Cube 30 is a very versatile amp and personally would take it over the Vox.
Quote by killbox2490
HOLY S**T! There is a switch hahahahahha. Thanks Red Wing. Now you're probably going to quote me for being so retarded

CLAPTON IS GOD
My daughter's guitar teacher (I take her, listen to the instruction she gets, and then go home and practice--seems to be working out pretty well) said that the Ibanez guitars are pretty versatile as far as being able to play various types of music. That's why I had been looking at them more than others. They also seemed to be a good value for what you get.
i think the iceman guitar will be better. get iceman ic200, ic300, or ic400; and get micro cube!