Just how versatile is an electric guitar? I am a beginner player. I have very limited experience with both an acoustic and electric. Sure I would love the ability to play along to my favorite songs as well as creating slow (acoustic type) songs to play for my significant other, but that's where I'm lost.

I plan on getting a guitar this next week, but I don't know which to choose. I'm aware that you can basically do a lot more with an electric, as well as how it is easier to start on an acoustic. I just wanted to know from experienced players if you could perhaps play a good amount of slower, sing-along type songs from an electric guitar as well.
sure you can...just dont add any distortion through ur amp and u can get a crisp, clean sound perfect for slower songs
It's really up to you what kind of guitar you choose. I personally started on an acoustic, and it definitely influenced the way I play electric now. You can play just about anything you want on either guitar, and if you really want that acoustic sound for "sing-along" type songs and you chose to buy an electric, you can always get a pedal that will make your guitar sound "acousticky." Also, it's actually easier to start on an electric, since the strings are easier to push down.

Bottom line: I started on an acoustic, and now play both, and wouldn't have it any other way, but it's really up to you. What type of music (besides sing-alongs) would you be playing?
Listen to a lot of music to hear what the electric guitar can do. Go to the Band & Artists forums to get recommendations for each genre, then put this into Google:

intitle:index.of mp3 Led Zeppelin

if you're looking for Led Zeppelin, for example. Also search around on Youtube.
Electric guitars are definitely more versatile in being able to do different effects, and music styles.

However, although you can get an acoustic pedal to make an electric guitar sound like an acoustic, nothing beats an actual acoustic for when you need that particular sound.