Hi. Ive been playing electric guitar for four months. I only down pick. The fastest songs I can play are Metal Militia by Metallica and Phantom of the Opera by Iron Maiden. Do you think I need to sit down and learn how to alternate pick? I can on random notes (down,down,down,up) but I cant go steady (down,up,down,up) You think Im alright?
-----------------------------------------------
Ibanez RG2EX1(all black :P)
Standard 15 Watt Ibanez Amp
Ibanez Weeping Demon Wah Pedal
um i started on playing stairway to heaven solo. That song is where i learned to alternate pick. Try it on that solo, only using alternate down and ups, no 2 ups or downs consecutively. It will come easier and easier.
Gibson SG Standard
Ibanez S2170FB
Peavey JSX
Marshall 1960A
TEXAS A&M
yes, alternating pick greatly improves your speed and is much more economical than just down or up picking.

Try out some excercises like the Steve Vai 10hr workout, i think it is

EDIT: not all of it :P just the first few until you get it down
My Gear
Line 6 Variax 600
Epiphone G-310
Ibanez RG350EX
81' Ibanez Blazer Bass

Line 6 Spider III 75
Line 6 POD X3 Live
Fender ToneMaster Mini
Boss DD-2 Delay
Boss CE-2 Chorus

My Band
Band MySpace!
Band UG Profile
yes,you need to learn alternate picking.start with some exercises before going into songs,
Quote by Gunpowder
The Pit is to intelligence what a black hole is to light; it's devoid of reason and logic, and nothing can escape it's shadowy depths. Once you enter, you cannot leave.
if you're the least be interested in improving on guitar, do yourself a favour and learn how to do it. The earlier you start to do it the easier it will be.
Quote by Lukeisonfire
tool and opeth definitly dont play tube amps . You cant get those distorted sounds out of it. tube is for like beatles stuff right?

Quote by evilbeaver22
You're right, just about the only thing better than a Spider 3 is an MG : )