For my senior project next year i'm gonna build a bass guitar, I just need to find a wood that won't be too expensive. I wanted some mahogany or something nice like that, but don't want to pay an arm and a leg. Any suggestions? This is my first build btw.
I can honestly say I have really been far even as decided to use even go want to do look more like.

I don't always post on UG, but when I do, I post in the Pit. Stay thirsty my friends.
What kind of sound are you looking for?
Current Gear:
LTD MH-400 with Gotoh GE1996T (EMG 85/60)
PRS SE Custom 24 (Suhr SSH+/SSV)
Ibanez RG3120 Prestige (Dimarzio Titans)
Squier Vintage Modified 70s Jazz V
Audient iD22 interface
Peavey Revalver 4, UAD Friedman BE100/DS40
Adam S3A monitors
Quote by Anonden
You CAN play anything with anything....but some guitars sound right for some things, and not for others. Single coils sound retarded for metal, though those who are apeshit about harpsichord probably beg to differ.
Quote by oneblackened
What kind of sound are you looking for?

Well, I really love Flea's sound. I just play guitar. I don't have a bass, this is why I'm building one. I just want a nice sound from a wood that won't cost me a lot.
I can honestly say I have really been far even as decided to use even go want to do look more like.

I don't always post on UG, but when I do, I post in the Pit. Stay thirsty my friends.
Alder i think would work well. Its not too expensive i dont think, and gives a good punch. Its used on Fender P and J basses. Maybe Basswood as well. Flea uses alot of expensive gear to get his awesome sound, its much more than just wood.
Quote by qotsa1998
Alder i think would work well. Its not too expensive i dont think, and gives a good punch. Its used on Fender P and J basses. Maybe Basswood as well. Flea uses alot of expensive gear to get his awesome sound, its much more than just wood.

Alder doesn't sound like a bad idea. Basswood would be way to light.

Quote by Ippon