Did you guys switch to an electric guitar after you got decent at the acoustic guitar? At what time frame/ skill level was this? I love my acoustic, but most of the stuff I listen to (Opeth, Metallica, Radiohead, Muse etc) use electric guitars, and I want to get that sound. I've been playing for about 10 months. As for my skill level, I am pretty good with open chords, and I'm starting to get smooth with Barre Chords. I can play a few scales, and appregios, at say about 160 bpm. I am terrible at fingerpicking, but I'm finally starting to get better. I haven't really started power chords, and I can play the 2nd Solo from WIndopane by Opeth. Should I consider getting an electric, or how long should I wait?
get a cheap electric to start with.
when you get better, buy something to suit your taste.
good luck getting muse's sound though.
I bought an electric about 2 years after I started playing acoustic. For me, it wasn't about waiting to switch, but that I just felt like I wanted to play some different stuff now and then. Buy an electric when you want to, not when you think you're ready, or good enough. Also, don't think of it as "switching." You can still play the acoustic too...nobody's stopping you from enjoying both.
Yeah they're very different instruments. I learned to play on electric, played EG for over 10 years and have only recently started playing acoustic.. It's much easier to switch from acoustic to electric though..

If you wanna play electric then go buy one, there's no rules that say you have to be able to do certain things before getting an electric. It's a completey different beast to acoustic guitar so it's not like you have to choose 1 or the other, play both.
I honestly don't see myself ever getting an electric. Just not my style. I prefer acoustic music by far and love the acoustic versions of popular songs more than the original version. I do see myself getting an electric acoustic at some point though.