I've bee playing for about three years all self taught, and I kind of started to look at some videos on YouTube for some more advanced techniques. I saw that everybody there strums and picks with a somewhat open hand, but my fist is completely closed when i strum so the three fingers besides thumb and index don't hang loose. Is this that bad? Cause I seem to play pretty good this way.
Quote by Pulsarthegreat
I've bee playing for about three years all self taught, and I kind of started to look at some videos on YouTube for some more advanced techniques. I saw that everybody there strums and picks with a somewhat open hand, but my fist is completely closed when i strum so the three fingers besides thumb and index don't hang loose. Is this that bad? Cause I seem to play pretty good this way.

when you just hold the pick with your thumb and first finger and stick out all your other fingers, it lets you pick faster.
Thats how I do it. Having an open hand just feels too uncomfortable to me.
2004 Fender American HSS Strat
Hughes And Kettner Switchblade
Schecter C-1 Hellraiser FR
Epi LP Classic
Epi G-400
Yamaha acoustic
Boss DD-3 Delay
B.Y.O.C. MXR Distortion+
Vox Wah
Ibanez TS9 Tube Screamer
somethings are always uncomfortable at the first time
as long as you doing it right, it will turn much more bearable
coz bad picking habits can really mess your speed up
I play with a closed hand. The only drawback I find is transitioning from 'normal' picking to palm muted.

Play a Cort ?

Play with V-Picks ?

Every minute is to be Grasped........................................................................Time waits for nobody.

Quote by Metallica_Man55
when you just hold the pick with your thumb and first finger and stick out all your other fingers, it lets you pick faster.

Sorry but just no. In some of his older videos Rusty Cooley picks with a closed fist when he's playing fast and Santiago Dobles from Aghora always picks like that.

Rusty

Santiago