I have an...embarassing amp. You know what it is if you have been here longer than 2 minutes. I'm not buying a new amp. Okay? I have a Kramer with only a bridge pickup. Now, I want to get a good jazz tone. My guitar is a little too trebely with the treble scooped the whole way. EVEN when my Bass and Mid is ALL the way up, I still get too much treble. So, what is it? It's not the amp. So far, I've been playing for 2 years, and I've gone from acoustic to ukulele to Hendrix to AIC and I haven't had ANY problems with getting sounds out of the amp. I think I might need a neck pickup. So, I have enough to maybe buy a Dot Studio or a hollowbody/jazzy guitar around 200. If that's the problem I'd have no problem getting a new guitar.
turn down the tone knob on your guitar (if it has one)
and dont boost the bass and mids, just cut some treble.
Gear:
Ibanez RG550 20th RFR
Traynor YCV50
Fender FMT HH Tele
Mesa Boogie 2ch Triple Rectifier
2 1x12 custom Theile cabs
ISP Decimator
Krank Kranshaft
Boss BF-2 Flanger
BBE Sonic Maximizer
bridge pup only+spider3 or marshall MG+no mids or lows...you have a metal guitar either buy an eq new amp or guitar...
even a squier would do better...
Quote by Eliyahu
Mr.Cuddles killed The Metal!!!! FUCK YES!

Quote by TheReverend724
Mr Cuddles pretty much nailed it...

Quote by thanksgiving

"Oh Mr.Cuddles, you make my pants go boom boom. I are horny. Do not disappoint I"

Viscara (my band)
you need something with a neck pickup, then roll off the tone. The epiphone dot studio's a great guitar. Slap some 11's or flatwounds on it, switch to the neck, and roll off the tone. Works like a charm.
Quote by vintage x metal
My toilet has seen some scenes that one would describe as 'deathcore'
Quote by Mr.Cuddles
bridge pup only+spider3 or marshall MG+no mids or lows...you have a metal guitar either buy an eq new amp or guitar...
even a squier would do better...

a "metal" guitar doesnt exist, unless its got uber hot pups, or actives.