I've been playing metal on an electric guitar for a few years now, and finally want to start learning some classical/flamenco on a nylon-stringed guitar.

1. Could I get a decent classical guitar for around $200? If so, which guitar will have the best value? I hear that if your guitar is not solid top it generally doesn't sound so good?

2. When I am trying out guitars on Monday at a local Guitar Center, what should I look for in each one I try (besides of course liking the feel and sound)? And specific things to look or watch out for?

3. If I don't buy a case, will I regret it? Is keeping it on a stand or simply taking care of it enough to keep it in good condition?

Thanks.
1. In general the more you spend the better you get. Acoustic instruments don't hide their flaws well, so if you get an awful instrument you can hear it's awful. If you're serious save up a bit more and get better. My classical was around £400 ($200) and i'm thinking about upgrading, it's not a wonderful guitar.

2. I'm no expert, someone may be better to help you out on that one.

3. Depends where you're taking it. My classical doesn't go anywhere with me so i have no need for a case.

I'd like to add aswell, buy a footstool. Great investment.
Well, make sure that the wood is all solid. If you buy a laminate top I'll hunt you down and tickle you with nettles.

Don't be fooled by guitars labelled "flamenco". At 200$ you won't be finding flamenco guitars.

hmmm what else.

You might want to check out the following brands. Yamaha, Alhambra and Admira make solid guitars in your price range, especially the Yamahas. You might want to look at the C-40, it's quite a nice guitar to start classical guitar on.

Check the guitar out when you buy it. Check all the frets for buzzes, check the body for dings and dangs, make sure you like the way it feels rather than just the price tag and the name. The more guarantees you can get that you're getting what you're paying for the better.

Good luck man.