Page 1 of 2
i was wondering what you all think i should do reguarding learning music theroy, scales, chord progressions, etc. im already self taught. ive been playing for one year. this came up when i was playing holy wars, and i noticed such a huge difference between marty freidman's solos and dave mustaine's solo. marty's solos were more diverse and sounded good. but dave mustaine's solo was easy to learn despite how fast and hard it sounds, but was not very diverse at all. i beleive marty freidman has some music education. but i didnt want musical education to ruin my creativity with writing and solos. what do you think iu should do. thanks

my gear:

gibson les paul studio

line 6 spider 3 75 watt amplifier
Yes, please learn theory, it makes jamming and everything so much better. When you know theory, you can actually play the guitar. It wont ruin your creativity if you dont let it. Just remember, its a guideline, what sounds good is the actual rule.
Gear

'07 Ibanez RG1570MRB Prestige
'97 Ibanez RGR570 - V7/Dimarzio Fast Track/ Dimarzio PAF Pro
Westfield SG Copy
Westfield Strat Copy
Falcon Acoustic
Peavey Valveking 212
Roland Microcube
Unbranded 15W Starter Amp
yea it's what I'm doing right now...I know a lot of guitarists that don't know **** for theory though...so its not really that important unless you wanna write your own stuff or improvise
Sorry but how exactly are scales and solos connected. Do you just change up a scale a bit (hammer ons holding nots longer ect) and theres your solo..?

I've been practicing scales a lot and I can go through many quite fast but I'm wondering what good this will do me, other then faster playing.
Quote by 20cdndollars
You are god, floppypick

Floppydick

If that's how you read my name, leave a message saying so on my profile
you don't have to tell us what gear you have so we can decide whether or not you should study theory.

and yes, study theory.
peanuts and beers