hey guys, I've been playing for a year and 2 months now. I'm trying to learn Maiden and priest songs with full solo's. I can play all of the notes but putting the speed in when connecting the solo just gets me. I mean i practice 2 hours a day or more whenever i have free time, and I'm just going nuts..i haven't seen any improvement in my playing expect for more legato techniques(i use legato a lot) i practice through my Fender 15R amp with a my Epip Special II, the sound i get is down right trash. Did i push myself to far my learning Maiden and priest and my time of playing? or should i just keep at it?
LOL
Take it easy. Just enjoy playing thats the main thing man. Don't worry about it start out slow. Have fun.

Guitars:
-Jackson DXMG (SH-2N, SH-6)
-Schecter Hellraiser C1 (18v)
-Ibanez XPT707FX (Blackouts)
-Ibanez BTB 400 Bass

Main Amp: Mesa DR Roadster

there is only one way to get better dude, and that is just keep trying and you will get there. if the solo is too fast, just play the solo slowly but making sure its all played correctly then speed it up abit and make sure its correct at that speed and just keep going till you get it. its all worth it in the end when you nail it

oh and of course, just have fun, dont worry about it too much, its meant to be enjoyable
Don't expect to be awesome too soon

Speed and accuracy takes ages to get down and the guys in Iron Maiden have been playing and gigging for ages.

Take it slowly, keep practicing, keep your playing clean, have fun and you should be set.
You've read it, you can't un-read it!
yhea i agree, ive only been playing since.... jan sumthing, and i dont expect to be good. i recently got into Yngwie J. Malmsteen (god), and i feel like an inferior being, but just have fun. you learn slowly, and get faster even slowlyier.
Edit* i've been playing for a year and 7 months, not 2 months, thinking of something else.
LOL
I had this problem not too long ago.