I'm NEW at guitar and just started taking lessons, along with studying a couple good websites. So far I'm really enjoying myself and trying to soak it all in.

My 9yr old daughter, along with my 7yr old daughter have expressed interest in learning as well..

So after a couple weeks of begging and pleading, I caved and got another guitar, partially to keep their mitts off my guitar! lol

Anyway.. I picked up a mini squire strat for them to learn on.

Now, how to teach them?

Do any of you have experience teaching kids? I'm looking for an approach that will (obviously) keep it fun, light and interesting.

Thanks!

Jamie
They should get lessons within their school, and tell them to listen to their teacher! It's amazing what teachers can do within their primary schools.
It's easier if they're into music. Not necessarily posters-and-band-shirts type, but in my experience kids (well... everyone, actually...) focus better if they're playing music they like. That means: NO jingle bells, NO happy birthday. Try Smoke On The Water, or Bad Moon Rising. Or: listen to the radio for a while, find a song they like, and search right here on UG for the tablature for that song.
It might be better if someone else teaches them instead of you. Keeping teaching and family separate might prevent complications.

They're young! Just keep it fun, show them easy cool songs to learn or something. Don't bother yet with theory and scales and whatnot.
WTLTL 2011
I found when I was learning that as long as I spent equal amounts of time with scales and theory as learning a particular song I stayed interested. 50% theory, technique and scales - 50% fun song learning. That worked for me, good luck with the kids!
I wondered why the frisbee was getting bigger, then it hit me.