if anyone could, i could use some help. i am trying to teach myself guitar. i have bought some tab books and can play parts of some songs but i dont really feel like i am learning much. for those of u who have taught yourselves where did u start? a general idea of what i should do would be appreciated. maybe a little program? like start with chords or finger exercises or whatever idk really i am new to this
Why dont you check out the UG lessons, start out on the newbie ones...no offense.
Professional Mixing available at request.

Everton FC
Buy a book like a beginning guitar type book, which will teach you the notes and some maybe simple scales and chords and stuff.

I bought a book like that, I can't remember the name of it right now, but there are plenty. After a while my uncle got me Blues You Can Use which taught me the pentatonic scales. Also look online, there is a lot of good stuff on the internet, I'm still learning stuff off it.

Check UG Beginner Lessons
2004 Fender American HSS Strat
Hughes And Kettner Switchblade
Schecter C-1 Hellraiser FR
Epi LP Classic
Epi G-400
Yamaha acoustic
Boss DD-3 Delay
B.Y.O.C. MXR Distortion+
Vox Wah
Ibanez TS9 Tube Screamer
eh....I don't know I just played....I read every book on theory I could learned lots of scales and modes and how you build them how you use them effectively......the best thing is just listen really carefully to everything you play see what intervals make certain sounds....I hope that helped...
There are plenty of starter lessons here on UG.
I also self taught myself. Took me 4 months to actually play something.
The key is to have patience and pace yourself. Practice basic things like finger exercises:
e -------------------------------------------------------1-2-3-4-
B --------------------------------------------1-2-3-4------------
G ---------------------------------1-2-3-4-----------------------
D ----------------------1-2-3-4----------------------------------