So I've been playing bass for about 2 years, and so far I've been lucky when it comes to gigs; I can borrow a friends amp, or the school's amp. However, when it comes to practicing with my friends, I have to use the dinky little 15W amp that came with my bass. Many times I can't hear myself at all over my drummer. Even when I put my ear to my own amp on 100%.

So anyways, the question is, I need a new amp, what do I get.
don't need anything that sounds great, I'd prefer to look for pure volume, probably at least 150W
I have a really small budget... 250$ or so.

I know the amps at this price range are going to be crap, but that doesn't bother me.

Thanks

Also, is there something wrong with this amp? Because the research I've done on my own suggests I cannot get something this loud for this cheap but...
http://www.guitarcenter.com/Crate-BT220-220W-1x15---2-Channel-Bass-Combo-Refurb-487834-i1390932.gc
Quote by kgesme21

Quote by Hsupernova

Oh yeah, and if guitar hero got you into the guitar? you're really playing for the wrong reasons.

there is no wrong reason to play a guitar, except for world enslavement and extermination of certain races, but those guys never make it big anyway.
The only thing I could think of is that the 220w is the peak power and not the RMS rating. Try to get something used. You'll be able to get more watts for your money. I always see people buying new gear when most used gear is in great shape.

Play it before you buy it. Goto a shop and crank it up and see how it is.

Edit:

But this is still in the 'practice amp' range. A 410 or 210 would probably sound better at higher volumes.
Quote by zonic

i do alot of chording (and i mean alot)
Want my opinion...Save up about another $250 and get something you'll want to use for more than a month.
Check e-bay and filter for your area... someone else either

1. just upgraded and is unloading what you want, or