Is something like this (BH or VJ tube) considered to be better than something like this (Vox modeling with tube in pre amp)? I'm just beginning and looking for a nice practice amp. They are the same price, so I wasn't sure which is considered better. I assume that the BH (or Valve Junior) don't have effects and such. I've searched and read some threads on it but still a little confused.
Well, I only wanted to spend $250-$300 on an amp, so I wasn't sure which was going to be better for practicing.
Quote by caseyd1012
Well, I only wanted to spend $250-$300 on an amp, so I wasn't sure which was going to be better for practicing.

Best thing to do is try them both out.

I'm sure BH will be more to your liking
I've got a Valve Junior and a Valvetronix....

The VJ has the better tone but is no where near as versatile as the Vox....
If it's a small practice i'd get a Valvetronix for the features. Because great tube tone wont be on the agenda till you're in the serious stages of being in a band.

Get the Vox
First off, only tube preamps are just ways to sell them. Not really much of a difference all in sound.

All-tube is definantly preferable by me, and alot of people, but there are definantly reasons to buy a solid-state amp, which is the effects they can come with, but at the same prices, since no-effect all tube amps are more expensive to make.

So basically, Tube with no effects: Less variety, better sound
Solid states with effects: Poorer sound, more variety.

Personally, I could care less about the effects if I can't get a good sound, and the sound of tubes is generally accepted as much better.