Hey, I've been playing guitar for about 5 years and I just can't shred. Its not like I just can't play the guitar. I can do 5 string arpeggios with taps but I just can't play as fast as I'd like. I've been listening to COB lately and I've been trying some of their songs and I just can't do it. For example, in the first solo with the sweeping part of silent night bodom night, I can play all of the sweeps in that part perfectly, but I cant play the simple fast parts like this:

|-------------17----17-19-17-19-17---------|-------------------------|
|-20-19-20----20---------------------20-19-|-20---------------------|
|-------------------------------------------------|--------------------------|

It isn't really a long run, but I can't get it up to the same speed as Alexi at all, yet I can with the sweeps. I don't think I practice it enough, because I generally practice sweeping and rhythm playing more as it comes more naturally to me, but I would like to develop this skill. How long and what should I do to practice it each day? I have the John Petrucci DVD, but I haven't really used it if that helps.
Use the John Petrucci DVD...a lot...with a metronome (which it says to in the DVD).
Gibson Les Paul Classic
Traynor YCV 50 Custom Blue

Quote by Dee'snutz
YES! you, Dazed/confused, are a genius. my thanks to you, good friend
dude, theres no set limit to how long u practice each day. practice as much as you can or want to. i mean, if you go really hardcore with it and practice for like, 8 hours a day, you'll have it down in no time. PRACTICE PRACTICE PRACTICE!!!!!!!!!
Quote by nodice182
Denny Crane.

Quote by dmiwshicldply
touche vman, touche

mate. feed. kill. repeat.
That's funny, I can shred, but I can't sweep very well. Petrucci's DVD has definitely helped. You should give it another try. Just work on alternate picking and practice changing strings and such. Playing arpeggios while alternate picking is a good exercise. Also try using a metronome as Petrucci does.