I'm just learning guitar (about 1 week into it) and I'm learning some basic chords. I'm primarily using the internet to learn. One thing I can't quite determine, is how to hold the neck of the guitar.

Some people/places suggest you keep your thumb in the same place in the middle of the back of the neck, while others suggest wrapping it around to mute the top string (such as with the C major chord). Watching people play, I see both. Some people have the thumb hanging up over the neck, sort of gripping the neck like a ball and some have it consistently on the back as if they were squeezing or pinching the neck.

Are there pros and cons to using one technique over the other? Seeing as how I'm just learning, I can go either way--they both feel awkward. I would prefer to learn the "proper" way.
i usually have my thumb behind the neck but for open position chords i have it sticking out at the top. it usually comes down to comfort for certain things but playing lead its better to keep it in the back unless your going to do alot of bending.
When I first started I put my thumb on the back of the neck because, you know, that's how they teach you the "right" way. But as you play more, and different chords you play your thumb goes in different places. It just came naturally for me.

It really depends on what chord your playing and how you're playing it, is what I'm saying.
When I started going through an online guitar course I was surprised to be told to always have the thumb on the back of the neck. Keeping it there definitely gives you a lot more reach over to the lower strings, but I still find it more comfortable to have the thumb at the top for open chords.