Ive been playing guitar for about 3 years, and just started playing with a group of people (pathetic, I know). I noticed that I am horrible at finding/keeping time. When I would play alone, I would just play along with the song or just be off in my own little world, but now that its with a group of people who are more experienced with me, I really need to work on my timing.

I need some simple songs that might help me find/keep time better. any suggestions?
Quote by bangoodcharlote
Practice with a metronome, click-track, powertab, or something like that.

Yeah I have. Its pretty sad cause I dont think I can even find how a song fits. Like I tryted seven nation army even, and I got: 1 2 and 3 and 4-- but then the and which comes after the 4 is too close then the actual way the song plays. That probably makes no sense, but yeah, Im horribly lost I guess.
Download Power Tab and learn how to read music that way. It takes a while but its how I did it. It was free and you learn a lot.
yeah. metronome is the way to go in my opinion.

but then again..you can always just learn to play drums if you want to get better rhythm.
Quote by gallagher2006
Whats a Steve Vai? Floyd Rose ripoff?

Quote by Mr. Twelve
Behold...the Arctopus are obviously music. I don't see how anyone could say they're not music compared to many modern and post-modern composers. That being said, I think B...tA are terrible.
Quote by bangoodcharlote
^That's 16th notes.

Find a lesson on google about rhythm. It will help you a whole bunch in figuring out how to play in time.

yer thats what i did, you gotta learn how rythm works and is created and then you can just tap your foot and your all good.
Feelin the Blues

"The Blues are a simple music and I'm a simple man. But the Blues aren't a science, the Blues can't be broken down like a mathematics. The Blues are a mystery, and mysteries are never as simple as they look" - BB King