Hi guys, I'm new to the bass forum, and to bass guitars in general, so i'm hoping to get a little advice.

I am looking into getting into the bass world - I have played guitar for many years, mostly acoustic, and I have a 30W Kustom Mixer that I use for my acoustic-electric. It would be nice if I could just pick up a decent bass guitar without having to invest a heap into a new amp... at least not yet. I am wondering if this mixer would work as a bass amp? And if so, would it be pretty good? If not for at least practice, would it be gig-worthy? It think it seems that mixers are generally pretty good for a wide variety of things, from mics to guitars, etc.

It's a Kustom KMA35DFX
http://www.kustom.com/product_detail.aspx?TypeID=7&FamilyID=95&ProductID=131&Tab=3

Will it suffice?
definatly not...you need to get another proper bass amp, a bass thru a guitar amp first off will sound like crap and it will blow after a while...and 30W is decent for practice but the rule of thump is you want 4 times as many watts fort bass amps as the guitar amp your jamming with

if the guitar amp is 100W you would want 400W
i dont think you need a full 400 but you need a decent amount more

look in the faq at the top of the forum there is a whole section for amps

when Moses brought down the plagues upon Egypt one of them involved Behringer amps

Dont be so humble, your not that great....
30w for bass is really weak

100w minimum, but theres bassists in my area's local scene that never go anywhere without 200w tube or 1400w ss
if you love bbe products join the "i heart bbe" group. kthnx (click link below)
http://groups.ultimate-guitar.com/ilovebbe/

Quote by Dempsey68
get a cheap marshall... my MG15DFX has a button that simulates the sound of one of the expensive tube marshall amps.
If you are just gonna have it for practice it will be fine. I don't think you could be loud enough on bass with it unless it was gonna be played in a small quite set with acoustics.
Quote by the boogieman