Here are the goods from the thread I started on Monday. Enjoy.

WOOHOO I GOT SUCH AN AMAZING DEAL!

I have to thank the people on these boards for steering me in the right direction. I had no clue what a B-52 was before I asked here. I'll give a quick review of everything I tried first then I will tell about what I got. So, go straight to the bottom if you want to see the goods hehe.

Crate VTX200:
http://www.stevesmusiccenter.com/CrateVTX200S.html

Ever heard of these? Yeah, me either. The GC guy plugged it in and said don't look at the sticker. It was 3 channels and sounded really bright and punchy for a solid state amp. This amp looks like a cheap version of a boutique fender type amp, but both distortion channels could crunch AND chug. I almost bought this amp, good thing I looked around more. It was $899 sticker and he was knocking it down to $450 because of a loose footswitch jack. I'm an engineer so it would take 5 minutes to resolder. I was looking for a little more warmth and didn't need all of the effects. This will be an amazing buy for someone else though.

Randall RG100:

I couldn't find a link for this amp. It was a pretty sweet combo. 100W solid state, two gain channels, 2x12. This amp was a brute in the gain dept. I really liked the way this thing snarled. Again though, it didn't have the warm, punchy tube characteristic I was looking for. It was also $500 and I couldn't see paying that much for this amp. Great amp, just not what I wanted.

Raven RG100:
http://www.guitarcenter.com/Raven-R...717-i1385074.gc

I'll have to say, I was pleasantly surprised by the metalness of this amp. The 2x12's really pushed some air and it had a good chug to it. I kind of didn't like the tone, but my buddy was really digging on this amp. He picked it up for $255 with tax. Not a bad deal in my opinion.

Peavey Classic 30:
http://www.musiciansfriend.com/prod...mbo-?sku=481014