Hey UGers,

New member here. Decided to join up after reading the members' responses in a number of threads. You guys seem knowledgeable and don't flame people for (sometimes obvious) retardedness.

That's why I've decided to ask a question I've been mulling over for a month or so.

I bought an Ibanez GRG170DX over Christmas. $175+tax at Long&McQuade. I had been looking around for one of these (I'm a beginner) and I thought $175 CDN for a new one was a good deal.

My personal opinion of it is that the guitar is well built, reliable so far, and looks good. But the materials are obviously not very high quality, the Powersound pups suck, and the trem is horrible (might improve if I get it set up properly/add another spring or something). It goes out of tune very every time you touch it (yes, I know I have no locking nut, but still), so I don't even bother attaching the whammy bar anymore. The guitar is very playable though, and I recommend other beginners like me to get one if you find a good deal.

Anyway, about the pickups,...yeah they're pretty bad (I'm a beginner and I can tell you that). If you have a good amp and crank up distortion, you may be able to get away with playing rhythm in a metal song, but you'll still need to hide behind a backing track or other band members if you don't want to embarrass yourself. Otherwise, the lows come out fairly well, which tends to cover up the trebles when you play chords. It just sounds like you hear the bass/foundations of the chord, then all the mid to higher EQ notes just get covered up and blend in, and every harmonic possible just jumps out of the guitar and you don't even hear the notes you've strummed anymore. Chords with more than 4 strings are a no-no. Hope that makes sense.

I was considering upgrading the pickups on this guitar and I need your help in answering some questions (for my other equipment, see below):