Page 1 of 2
(This is my first ever thread)

I've been playing guitar for nearly 3 years, self taught. My current gear is:

Ibanez RG370DXL (Yes I'm left-handed)
Boss ME-50
Digitech Whammy
Digitech Death Metal distortion pedal
Marshall MG15CD practise amp

I've practised at school alot of times in the music dept. and use various amps when I'm there. Usually a Peavey, Laney, Fender G-Dec, or Roland Micro-Cube. I use my Death Metal pedal all the time as I can only get the decent extreme sound I want out of it and have come to the conclusion that only Marshalls can handle it. It works beautifully on my MG15CD at home but as soon as it gets on that Laney or G-Dec (I know digital amps suck for pedals) it just gets screwed up.

So I've decided that I want to move up the line and get my first stack. I should mention I'm not the richest kid in the world (yes I'm 13). And for a while I've been looking at various stacks and I'm wondering, is this the right stack for me?

I'm pretty set on this: Marshall MG100HDFX head - http://www.guitarampkeyboard.com/en/marshall-mg100-hdfx/326

MG412A Angled - http://www.guitarampkeyboard.com/en/marshall-mg-412a/9620

MG412B Straight - http://www.guitarampkeyboard.com/en/marshall-mg-412b/10512

My plan is, save up for the head, then the angled, then the straight, one piece at a time, each piece being £169 each. I've never looked into this kind of thing before so I'm posting this thread to get people's opinions on whether this is the right beginner stack for me or not.

Andrew

EDIT: Alot of people are posting replies saying "why do you want an mg?" whereas I decided a while ago now that it was fairly obvious that the MG was a bad choice. Could people now reply saying what valve/tube combo amp would be good for me.
Last edited by A-G-guitarist at Mar 17, 2008,
Do not, I repeat, do NOT get the MG.