Ok so I'm a beginner bass player. I have searched all over the net and read through my books and I'm just not sure if I'm reading the vertical scale charts right. From my understanding you start out on the root note and work your way from lowest note to the highest note and back again right? So how do you know where to start the scale from? I'm thinking you would start at the lowest string (E) then go to the root note then go from low notes to high notes on that string then go to the next lowest string (A). Is that how you read the vertical scale chart? If so here is my problem.
Well I'm trying to learn the "C harmonic minor scale" and I'm looking in my bass grimoire book at the "C harmonic minor scale" and it doesn't seem to start on the note C.....???
Quote by jazz_rock_feel
The problem is the Grimoire is probably showing you all the notes in that scale ont he fretboard. For practising basic scales just find a root and then look for notes you can play in one position.

Isn't that how all scale charts work? by showing you all the notes in the scale? I'm just trying to understand how to read the vertical scale chart...
be able to read and play the scale correctly. My friend has wrote a midi track using this scale and I'm just trying to write some bass to add to it