Hi.

I just started playing bass in a new band, after a few years of just tinkering around on it. And I've decided I need a real amp, rather than the 30 watter I've been using.

Now one guitarist is playing a valveking 100 stack, and the other a vox ad100 stack.

Overkill, I know.

I need something, cheap, reliable, punchy and not behringer.

I'm drawn to laney, but not the price tag.

I'm playing a jazz bass btw, and its kinda a 'muse/placebo/radiohead' sound, I like that fat yet clean sound that Colin Greenwood gets, but I also would like to run some effects into it, particularly a decent compressor.

I'm in the UK.
Quote by tubab0y
Woohoo, I love you Ped!
you'll have to give a price range. then you'll get tons of suggestions.
dean edge one 5 string
Schecter studio-4
Samick fairlane-6
Ibanez sb900
Ibanez btb775
Fender p bass special deluxe

Dean Del Sol
Ibanez prestige rg2610

Peavey TKO 65
Peavey vb-2
Quote by the_perdestrian
listen to revelation, for he is wise in the way of bass-fu
I was trying to keep it sub £300, but even the powers of Ebay are telling me thats gonna be a push, I'm guessing I'll need around 300 Watts. The Laney 300 watt combos would both just about brush £300.

I'd be willing to go over - I need a bloody job first.
Quote by tubab0y
Woohoo, I love you Ped!
That VK is gonna be tough to push thru. But if they can turn it down a bit, a Crate BT220 would work. Only 200 watts, but its pretty inexpensive.
The Laney combos are great IMHO, my RB4 has done me proud for the 18 months I've had it, the 7 Band EQ is also a handy little feature, I usually get asked by the idiot lead singer to turn down, but I don't I just scoop my mid a little, hardly even noticed.
Is the EQ footswitchable? And how about fx loops?

I'm hoping to one day have a two amp setup, one dirty, the other clean.

I want that thunderous low end.
Quote by tubab0y
Woohoo, I love you Ped!