hey ive been playing for around 3 years and just relised i have a bad habbit of only using downstrokes, its never affected my playing ability but i was wondering would it make a drastic improvement if i started using upstrokes too ?
GEAR

customised westfield strat soon to be HH
MIJ 68'reissue strat from 1996

bunch of boss pedals
Using upstrokes will double your picking speed, or halve your hand speed for the same rhythm. Play a chord using downstrokes only, then down and up for the same BPM. You'll notice how much slower your hand can go, so you can concentrate more on where you're putting your fingers. Alt-picking is highly recommended.

Ibanez S470
Laney HCM30R
Digitech GNX3000
Playing for 3 years and only downstrokes? O.o what exactly did you play these years? XD
Gear
Ibanez RG2550E
ESP/LTD M-10
Fender FM212R amp
EHX Metal Muff
Ibanez WP-7 Wah
alternate picking will make things easier, but some songs(like metallica songs) are mostly done downpicking only, so it is a preferencem but lots of guitarists alternate pick
Quote by higgy30
would it make a drastic improvement if i started using upstrokes too ?

Yes, and you will be more accurate once you get used to it. I never thought about it and started doing it naturally.
so is it actually bad to not alternate pick. i can pick riffs with ease only downstroke, for example civil war even thought its easy but i can barley altenate pick it
GEAR

bunch of boss pedals
Quote by higgy30
so is it actually bad to not alternate pick. i can pick riffs with ease only downstroke, for example civil war even thought its easy but i can barley altenate pick it

Learning alternate picking will definately take your playing to a whole new level. It's not as hard as it sounds, just start easy out.
Ibanez s540 with gold Schaller bridge and OMGGOLD hardware

Ibanez RGR320 with Lo-Edge Pro bridge and scalloped fretboard

Lee Jackson XLSC - 500

Roland Microcube

Dunlop Jazz III black