I have been teaching a girl bass for a few months now, and she wanted to get her first bass because she had problems with me lending mine to her so she wants to go to GC.

She was a double bassist so she thought she wouldnt have much trouble with the VM Fretless Jazz, I am trying to keep her away from it by telling her why she shouldn't but she is insisting.

So UG Bass forum, I need your help, is there anything I can tell her to keep her off it? She's been playing for like 3 months and she can't really nail the frets so good right now and stuff, but she just wont budge.

Any help? This is urgent.
So an irishman walks out of a bar.
Well, I went backwards... I started up double bass this year, after playing electric bass for several years.

I found it harder a transition from fretted bass to a fretless double bass... but they don't come fretted. It's cause the steps on the upright are much larger than that of a normal bass... However, I did realize that after playing double for a while, playing fretless was so much easier at my friend's...

It may be a good idea to go with it.

--Arojekt.
This is more your fear of teaching than your fear of her not succeeding
Originally posted by germ
all of you shut up, or i swear ill turn this car RIGHT AROUND!!!!!

*closed*

damn. i was never good at magic tricks.
Quote by Chemicalwarfare
This is more your fear of teaching than your fear of her not succeeding

But when she gets told that her tone sucks or summat like that it's gonna be her getting told, not me. :/ That bothers me.

But fine, thanks for the opinions guys, just don't judge and ****.
If she knows her intonation on an upright, she should be able to figure it out on a fretless electric.
I <3 bangoodcharlotte

Quote by humperdunk
one time i let my cat has cheezburger. i thought it was pretty funny.
some fretlesses come with lines so you don't have to worry about hitting the wrong.. spots. and personally i love the tone on fretless basses. smooth and warm