Hey guys, couple of questions.

I've been playing in standard E tuning since i started playing, so i'm new to dropped tuning.

lately I've been planning to tune my guitar to drop C / D, so I could start playing bands I like (mostly Killswitch Engage stuff, bullet etc).

Thing is, I heard from people that It's not recommended to to so on 0.9's, and that it would be sloppy.

1. If I plan on playing drop C, should I buy thicker strings? say 0.10? or even 0.11? what's recommended? (btw do any of you guys know which strings do killswitch / bullet play with? )

2. If I plan on playing drop D, should I still buy 0.10? or is regular 0.9 ok for drop D?

And since I know nothing about dropped tuning, it would be great if you have any advice / tips that i should know (tuning / gear / technique etc).

Thanks guys!
Johnny.
Mwhaha, just wait until I find something cool to put here.
Ernie Ball Skinny Top Heavy Bottom.

FTW
Heads will roll. Throats will be slit. Blood will flow like springs of water.
i believe bullet use 11s, but they swap the low 52 for a 56
read it in total guitar a while ago

i also saw matt tuck in an advert for rotosound strings!

i use 9s for drop D, they should be fine
Top lel.
Quote by mafropetee
Ernie Ball Skinny Top Heavy Bottom.

FTW

what is special about these strings?
are these regular 0.10's?

and I get it's not even an option playing 0.9's with drop C?
Quote by the memory
i believe bullet use 11s, but they swap the low 52 for a 56
read it in total guitar a while ago

i also saw matt tuck in an advert for rotosound strings!

i use 9s for drop D, they should be fine

That's because they use Rotosounds mostly. I've been meaning to give them a try.

Quote by Bloppy Yeah!
what is special about these strings?
are these regular 0.10's?

and I get it's not even an option playing 0.9's with drop C?