Hi there
Ive been playing guitar for exactly 2 years now, and im doing pretty good till now. I played for long time clasical/acosutic guitar, never touched a pick or an electric guitar. I did pretty good, learned all kind of music, blues, classical, modern music, spanish, etc. I have a very decent level, i can play asturias, classical gas, capricho arabe 95% perfect, etc.
Anyways, the last 3 months i was getting very stuck, so i decided to buy a cheap electric guitar with an amp to learn: rock, metal, lead, etc. The first 2-3 month i did very good, and it was very easy to progress, doing exercises, practicing bends. and in less than 3 months i almost nailed down completely master of puppets excluding the fast solo. It was very easy since i had good finger dextery.

So here is where my problem/concern starts. The other week my electric cable broke, so i had to stuck playing my acoustic guitar during this week until i get a new one. i did not touch that guitar for almost 3 months of just playing electric... and what a disaster. I lost so much practice on it, it took me 1.5 weeks of intensive playing to recover. Ok, but now i picked my electric guitar and i lost alot also, it will take me also 1 week to recover.

I was speaking with a friend and my dad, they told me that if i want to progress and deep-in in guitar, i had to choose one type of guitar and stuck on it, playing both simultaniously wont make me advance very much. Im really worried, i love guitar, i love playing all styles from classical music to death metal, but i dont know what to do on my situation, this last month was completely lost. Please if possible, some suggestion tips.

(sorry for long post and avg english)
Thats bull**** im doing grade 7 classical guitar and i play electric a grade 8 standered, just practice both equally
Quote by Jack_hertz92
Thats bull**** im doing grade 7 classical guitar and i play electric a grade 8 standered, just practice both equally