Hi folks

I've been playing acoustic for nearly 4 months now, truly inspired by Edgar Cruz/Tommy Emmanuel styles, love solo arrangements, but I also love me rock n' roll and solos, and am interested in buying electric guitar + amp. I know it is personal preference, we must feel comfortable above all with whichever one we choose. I am looking for any advice on specifics to be aware of?

My budget for guitar + amp is about $1000. Please know that I am very new to electric side of things, and only understand really that you plug it into the amp and off you go, lol

TIA for any help
get an epiphone les paul standard, and a line 6 spider amp
just give me a fender and let me rip
Mabye try getting an AMAZING amp and a good guitar.

Em... Fender Hot Rod Deluxe ( http://www.musiciansfriend.com/product/Fender-Hot-Rod-Deluxe-Amp?sku=480510 ) You'll be surprised how many people have used those.

Schecter Omen 6 ( http://www.musiciansfriend.com/product/Schecter-Omen-6-Electric-Guitar?sku=518181 )

Just a choice. Choose a better amp than guitar. Most people don't and regret it.
Quote by Sonicxlover
Obviously we should play the UG theme.

ULTIMATE GUITAR! YOO GEE!?
On the lighter side of practice amps, try the Vox Valvetronix series out, if for no other reason than at bedroom levels they can do just about any sound you want.
If you want something a little more straightforward, the Epi ValveJunior and its cousin the Blackheart Little Giant are good, straightforward, single-channel amps.
Most of the people here are going to recommend small 5-15w tube amps.
Amps are a little more taste-oriented than anything, so get out and try a few.